top of page
  • arfulwell99

A Refreshing Retrospect: Jeannie Goutet’s New Sequel, “Philippa Holds Court”

There’s no doubt about it. The publishing world is changing. it’s good to see good old-fashioned clean historical fiction is still out there. I’m pleased to recommend this new book by Jeannie Goutet, Philippa Holds Court,” a sequel to the first book in the Clavering Chronicles, A Fall From Grace. Check this one out!

She’s capable of many things—including driving him mad.

At the start of their London Season, Philippa Clavering discovers her friend Susan is being pursued by the wrong gentleman and decides to turn Susan’s head to a worthier suitor. Not one to shrink from what she views as her duty and gift, Philippa sets plans in motion to bring about the happy ending her friend deserves. What she does not expect is to have Susan’s older brother watching—and criticizing—her every move.

After a respectable number of years on the town, Jack Blythefield is at last contemplating the idea of settling down. What he seeks is a compliant wife to provide him an heir or two and make his home comfortable while he spends his evenings at the club, where a man can get some peace. What he does not need is a termagant who sets his life on end with madcap schemes which invariably involve his unwilling assistance.

However, when the reputation of Jack’s family is threatened, Philippa is the one he turns to. And as her most determined suitor grows assured of his conquest, Jack must decide if a comfortable and docile wife is truly what he seeks or if he should throw down the gauntlet of his heart before Philippa closes court.

Philippa Holds Court is the second in the Clavering Chronicles series, after A Fall from Grace, and it is a clean & wholesome Regency romance, written in the traditional style. ♥

Review

A classic regency romance in the tradition of Georgette Heyer, Philippa Holds Court is told with the charm and grace of a Pemberly ball and is full of wit, elegance, and sparkle. Audrey Blake, USA Today bestselling author of The Girl In His Shadow Eloquent prose pulls you in and the story captivates to the end. This page turner will keep you up all night. A beautiful escape. – Janice MacLeod, NYT Bestselling author of Paris Letters Philippa Holds Court is a fascinating insight into the political machinations of Regency times, as this firecracker of a heroine proves opposites can attract. – Carolyn Miller, author of the Regency Brides series

For more information, or to purchase the book, click here.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page